Poets logo

I am the Master, am I not?

wrestling with my thoughts

By Grace DowneyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
I am the Master, am I not?
Photo by Peter Chiykowski on Unsplash

I am the Master

of my mind

am I not?

I demand– move

we move. I urge jump

we jump

Movement I dictate

grabbing

walking

sitting. To analyze is also mine

to process

to track

to think

--

Yet

my lungs inflate

as I sleep? My heart pumps

with rhythm no less?

If an organ shuts down

is that loss of control

or evidence I never had it?

I question

if I hold any control

--

If you have the

remote, do I

place the batteries? is there

a hard reset? do

you dictate whether

I breathe my next

breath?

the fear

of you pulling the

plug

to ignore

warnings? feign ignorance?

--

Are you

parent while

I play conductor? we pretend

I make orders. fun

games

“you’re driving!” you shout, while

you doctor the

pedals. painting

a picture, you deem

color

shapes

where is the

regulation that

controls this union?

--

I get injured, sleep

is forced. reins

were mine but

taken away

system shutdown

panic mode

control ripped

from my fingers. The adult

overrides all

power, usurping my

throne

--

Who gave you

authority to shut

me down? Do

you not question

where ideas come from?

--

The thought of thought

plagues me,

come forth

from the expanse pop

into existence

an observance made

but

am I the one observing?

I do not recall

ordering my body to observe

perhaps ownership

of thoughts is

a fool’s thought

--

If my mind is

Master am I merely

vessel? What of

my soul? Pray tell, what is

my purpose

here?

if I need be

public face of this

operation

so be it. But

tell me the coauthor of

my life so I may

credit them

--

Tell me the

truth. spare me

the coddling. Who is the

Master of

my mind?

mystery

I suppose

will stay buried

still

One last

question

I am the Author

of this

am I not?

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Grace Downey

An artist, graphic designer, creative human, and secret Margaret.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.