Poets logo

I Am

Niin= I am

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
12
I Am
Photo by Liam Drinan on Unsplash

I am

the daughter

one of five

I am the eleventh.

******

I am

the wife

of three

undeserving of my love.

******

I am

the mother

of two

receiving my karma wished upon me.

*******

I am

a teacher

for life

knowledge gained through the years.

******

I am

the seer

my eyes

listen to the things unspoken.

******

I am

the dreamer

I play

a new vision for my life.

******

I am

the cycle-breaker

the black sheep

the silent strong.

******

I am

the warrior

I have the right

To stand and protect.

******

I am

a woman

soft and tender

with arms wrapped around babies.

*******

I am

the story teller

imaginative and thrilling

passing on family history.

******

I am

the builder

of home

and a family empire.

******

I am

a Gemini

light and dark

intelligently twisted and mutable in a moments notice.

******

I am

highly educated

I know

how to find the answers to assure accurate facts.

*******

I am

certain of me

and certain of my strength

the creator built me this way.

******

I am

in self-approval mode

what you think of me

means nothing anymore.

******

I am

a key

to many doors

that is closed to many.

*******

I am

free from

those who can't see

or from those who will not hear.

******

I am

me for

the first time

niin = I am

inspirational
12

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    This is gorgeous, with every line I can feel your feet planted firmly in the earth like a tree, quietly roaring 😁😁😁😁

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Lovely and freeing words. The I AM is flying high. Very well done.

  • J. Delaney-Howe9 months ago

    I love this! I am a huge fan of anyone who accepts and stand firm in who they are. Great poem.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Awesome!!! Wonderfully written & loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is wonderful. Love it.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Very well said and ,yes, you are a story-teller.

  • Yulianto Arif10 months ago

    who i am??

  • Denise E Lindquist10 months ago

    Thank you 😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.