Poets logo

I Am Oh So Lucky

I’ve known true love

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
4
I Am Oh So Lucky
Photo by Ian Simmonds on Unsplash

I am oh so very, very, lucky

Why is that, you may enquire,

I have known and felt true love

Pure love, in its entire.

***

Most stages of my life have involved

Some type of pure raw exquisite love,

I’ve lived, breathed and honoured

As much as I could of the love above.

***

I first experienced this beautiful emotion

When I was living in a children’s institution,

Luckily I had two big Sisters on my side

Their pure love, for me, a forgone conclusion.

***

It was the bond of this true Sisterhood

That I was so lucky to have growing up,

These two souls were the saving grace

And for that I thank my good luck.

***

I met my soul mate at the age of thirteen

And I was lucky to give and receive,

A love so pure and sweetly innocent

That to this very day the loss I grieve.

***

I’ve been graced with the love of friendship

But one special friend filled my heart,

The unconditional love he shared

Has made his death extremely hard.

***

Next my fabulous luck showered me

With the birth of my two fantastic boys,

If you’ve never experienced this bond

You’ll not know how lucky I am to enjoy.

***

You know if that was the extent of my life

I’d still consider myself as ‘oh so lucky’,

As the best title I have ever received

Is the crown of all titles, “Mummy”.

***

I thought I had used up all my luck

But then I married a man of passion,

Although this love was brutal and hard

I’m still grateful that it happened.

***

So although I now live a life on my own

And I may have lost so much,

I still feel extremely lucky

For my life has been full of love’s touch.

*************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

love poems
4

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.