Poets logo

Bruce - RIP

You are missed every day

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
12

On a very traumatic and devastating day, one that changed my life

I fled from the home and town I lived in and stood by the side of the road,

My whole life suddenly consisted of one suitcase with half a dozen outfits

My medical reports, a spare pair of shoes, a carton of smokes and $13 stowed.

***

I remember well the pain I was in that day, along with being heavily bruised

Further to feeling unwell, I was severely dehydrated and sweltering in the heat,

I fled that day as I couldn’t win against the ongoing family violence and abuse

I finally made the decision that it was time to cut my losses and admit defeat.

***

Standing by the road, just out of town, on what seems to be one of the hottest days

Patiently waiting, hoping and praying some generous soul would give me a ride,

When out of the blue along come a long road train with two truckers aboard

They began to slow down, as I was holding my breathe, and stopped to let me inside.

***

On the road for 8 hours, getting to know each other, until we pulled into Darwin

It was a warm dark night, 8pm to be exact, on 23 December when we arrived,

Two days before Christmas and I didn’t I have a clue as to what I would do

I was just thanking my lucky stars and was certainly relieved to have survived.

***

The truckers were given rooms at a local hotel but one room wasn’t being used

They very generously offered this room to me, free of charge, for 3 days,

After which they would need to head off on their next trip and I’d be on my own

But I refused to worry as I was grateful my homelessness was delayed.

***

I was introduced to the hotel cleaner on Christmas Day at an in-house lunch

He held out his hand, said call me Bruce, and that he’d met the truckers before,

During our delicious lunch, the topic of my predicament raised its ugly head

But I’m thankful as this kind hearted man, who barely knew me, opened his door.

***

From that day on, Bruce has been an extremely important person in my life

As he became my best friend, a father figure and my greatest supporter,

There was nothing he would not do for me and asked nothing in return

A roof over my head, food in my stomach and treated me like a daughter.

***

During all the special occasions, the heartbreaks and pain, from that point forward

You would always see my best friend standing by my side offering me his hand,

Through the birth of both my gorgeous boys, he never let me feel alone

He was like a grandfather to these boys without ever making a single demand.

***

This friendship spanned over 29 years, never a bad word passed between us

I was honoured a number of times over the years to be able to repay his kindness,

In fact there was a stage in his life where he had suddenly become homeless

I was able to put a roof over his head, which became another reason to bind us.

***

Even when my boys and I moved interstate and across the other side of Australia

Bruce was always there, just a phone call away, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week,

There was a point in my life whereby I was sick and couldn’t look after my children

I put them on a plane and sent them to Bruce, who’d never turn the other cheek.

***

29 years of friendship involving all our ups and downs, our highs and lows

And never once could I imagine not having this unique person as a friend,

With an age gap of 18 years between us, I learnt a lot from his experiences

How to trust someone, to ask for help, to accept the unconditional love he’d extend.

***

Then my greatest nightmare was realised with the answering of one telephone call

Bruce’s son was calling to give me the news, my best friend had left this plane,

He is now sitting comfortably way up high, looking down as my new guardian angel

Even believing that, I struggled with grief, loss and the tears I couldn’t contain.

***

It been 11 months since the news I received that day battered and broke my heart

Still I pick up the telephone on a daily basis with just something silly I want to say,

Then I remember, as I stand with my phone in my hand, the piercing pain

Once more realising I can never call or hear his voice and I suffer through in dismay.

***

So Bruce, sitting up there oh so high and looking down on us mere humans

Please know you are missed every day and still I struggle with the deepest pain,

Caused by the immense amount of love I have in my heart and soul for you

That has nowhere to go and I try to believe that I will one day see you again.

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

sad poetry
12

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss 😔

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.