Poets logo

I Am.

An inner-dialogue about being black in America

By Le'Quan JacksonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Am.
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

I am black

A shadow image of my ancestry;

A perceived blemish to humanity.

I am black

A person whose limbs overshadow my mind;

an athletic student, not a scholarly athlete in their minds.

I am black

A pawn, the weakest piece in colonization’s game;

Slavery leaving me perpetually maimed.

I am black

A hyphenated-american;

In a country fixated on african.

I am black

An absence of color;

A hole in society painted as an other.

-

I am Black

One whose family tree branches rich traditions;

Rooted in the arts, religion, and soul food in addition.

I am Black

A countenance display of profound features;

Large-lipped, wide-nosed exotic melanin creature.

I am Black

A knight fortress when clanked with opposition;

Forever marching with pride and nobility through oppression.

I am Black

A vital symbol of the melting pot;

No longer asphyxiated by the rope’s knot.

I am Black

Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Violet…they’re all in me;

A cultural chromatic menagerie.

I am Black

United we stand our black fists and your national flags to the sky;

Let prejudice, hatred, and racism die.

Why?

We are Black.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Le'Quan Jackson

I enjoy making words worth a thousand pictures. My writing usually explores topics that touch on a colored boy's perspective - whether that color be the pigmentation of my skin or the rainbow palette of my sexuality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.