Poets logo

I AM HAPPY

Centred around society's obsession with social media and the constant pressure to be happy. I AM HAPPY questions how much we are willing to lose of our imperfect selves, in order to achieve the perfect image desired.

By Sangeetha GowdaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I don't want to be human

I want to be happy

So wring my soul of every ounce of joy

Give it to the world

Show them I'm happy

Let truth stay hidden

Truth is for the weak

To be carefree

That's who we are

I'm not trapped

I'm free

A free slave to an imperfect system of perfection

And a mask that

Burns my skin

Sinks deeper into my veins

Becomes one

Becomes me

My sanity is lost between being who I am

And being what you want me to be

But I crave the love you give me when I'm

Not me

It's only a hit

But it's a hit I can't stop taking

For who am I without it?

Without you?

To be empty?

Lost?

Normal?

I can't

I need the reigns of perfection marked across my body

It is the only way you'll accept me

The only way you'll care

I fear becoming unseeable

But I'm happy

I swear.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Sangeetha Gowda

Actor | Writer | Director | Mixed Race Aussie 🇦🇺

.

Writing away my emotional breakdowns and creating thought provoking films that showcase diversity, as I work towards catching a break in my Acting career.

.

#mentalhealth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.