Poets logo

Girl of Grey

My journey to self acceptance

By Sangeetha GowdaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Girl of Grey
Photo by Henry Tuchez on Unsplash

We live in a Black and White world

Is what I'd always been told

But I was born to two sides

So I've always felt cold

I tried to find my place

I tried to paint my canvas

But they could not see the grey

They could not understand it

Surrounded by white hues

I strived to be the same

But they pointed out my soft blues

My father was to blame

He'd given me this shade

A shade that didn't match

He told me I could join him

But even so, I would detach

I never felt like me

In a world of white's and black's

Why couldn't I choose grey?

Paint a brand new shade perhaps?

One against the world

My heart was on the run

Till I stepped outside its confines

And found I was not the only one

I saw teal and purple and pink

Even gold and orange and green

If you look beyond the borders

You'll see shades you've never seen

The world is full of colour

It isn't black and white

There are shades between the darkness

And shades between the light

I'll stand proud of who I am

I'll embrace both sides as one

It's no one's place to hold my paint brush

For my story's just begun

My greyness is my essence

My soft blues give me light

Embracing truth is freedom

This canvas shines on bright

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Sangeetha Gowda

Actor | Writer | Director | Mixed Race Aussie 🇦🇺

.

Writing away my emotional breakdowns and creating thought provoking films that showcase diversity, as I work towards catching a break in my Acting career.

.

#mentalhealth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.