Poets logo

I am a person.

Not a list of accomplishments.

By Christiane WinterPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
6
I am a person.
Photo by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash

I am a person, not a list of accomplishments.

I am a delighted coo at every animal I see.

I am a long, silent laugh that ruptures into uncontrollable tears.

I am a dreamy stargazer, a burning passion and a quiet dignity, a fountain spewing knowledge arcane and strange.

I am as strong and guarded as I am soft and vulnerable, choosing to trust and love, when I do, with every fiber at my disposal; a keen, listening ear when among the deaf, and a silent chamber where the ideas of those I love echo and hum as a beautiful cacophony in my heart.

I am a 3am road trip to places unknown, spontaneity and delight embodied.

I am fiercely wild, and even more fiercely loyal.

I am not, and will never be an organized box of trophies and accolades.

I am not a career, a salary, or any number of things measured by earthly value.

The things I do to survive do not define who I am, or my value as a human being.

I do not dream of 5 year plans or any such limited goals, but of eternities of overflowing joy, of dancing beneath a warm summer sky with the breeze at my back, ancient music enchanting my senses, and a fire within that goes beyond the ages of man.

I am freedom, I am love, I am forgiveness.

In my dream, I will share this with you always, and we will be wealthy in love and spirit, two souls untamed and bound together by true understanding.

You are a person, not a list of accomplishments.

inspirationallove poemsperformance poetry
6

About the Creator

Christiane Winter

Science fiction, horror, and dark comedy enthusiast. I have been a GM for D&D for 10 years, playing for nearly 20. Like all aspiring authors, I have hundreds of stories, and almost none have been finished.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jen McDougal2 years ago

    Love this, absolutely beautiful

  • Tommy Ballard2 years ago

    Beautiful work as always Christiane

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.