Poets logo

I Am a Christmas Card

Poem from the perspective of a Christmas card

By Rowan Finley Published 6 months ago 1 min read
3
"O Holy Night" Violin Cover

I’m sent towards the end of the year,

to aid in spreading Christmas cheer.

Tattoo me with an address,

it’s my delight, I must confess.

Stamp my right top corner,

on my journey, a blessed, joy, sojourner!

Caressing other cards along the way,

until I make it in a mailbox to stay,

for a day, maybe two if they forget,

to check the mailbox, because then I’ll not-so-patiently sit.

Waiting to be collected, opened and enjoy the fridge, or fireplace top view,

until the season is over and through.

Then, I may be saved, or stored, or not,

sometimes the trash is my final lot.

vintageslam poetrysad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreakart
3

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Awww, poor Christmas card! But sadly, that's what actually happens!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.