Poets logo

I Always Do

A Lyric Poem

By Lindsay SfaraPublished 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
4
I Always Do
Photo by Amy Humphries on Unsplash

She sleeps and dreams come to her;

so when she wakes with a stir

there’s a fire in her belly

to tackle the scary.

But when she tells around

about her plans abound,

she’s met with hesitation

and cries of devastation.

.

They say, “Don’t even try—it’s too hard.

You’ll just fall apart.

I’m only looking out for you.

It’s just what I do.

How could you think you can make it?

Life’s up not up for taking.

Please don’t do this to yourself.

Let dreams sit on the shelf.”

.

But she’s singing,

.

“I may not know where I’m going,

but I walk anyway;

May not know what I’m doing,

but I’ll try with grace.

I may not know where I’m going,

I’ll just find my way.

I always do.”

.

The lights fill her eyes with awe,

blood buzzes to a new dawn.

Her life’s worth in her pocket

to put her name on the market.

Her heart, she’s ready to pour

out as she opens the door

to go against all their fears

and wipe away her own tears.

.

They beg, “Please don’t go, please don’t do this,

you’ll just wind up in fits.

Watch, you get out there and choke.

This really is no joke.

Only rare jewels succeed.

You’re not one, you’ll just bleed!

This is your last warning.

Don’t come home to us crying.”

.

Still, she’s singing,

.

“I may not know where I’m going,

but I walk anyway;

May not know what I’m doing,

but I’ll try with grace.

I may not know where I’m going,

I’ll just find my way.

I always do.”

.

But they cry, “You brought this on yourself!

I said keep them on the shelf!

Now you’re left here with nothing.

How could you think you were something?

So come back home and behave.

Life’s taking more than you gave.

To survive this, you must.

You should’ve listened to us!

.

Don’t even try—it’s too hard.

You’ll just fall apart.

I’m only looking out for you.

It’s just what I do.

How could you think you can make it?

Life’s up not up for taking.

Please don’t do this to yourself.

Let dreams sit on the shelf.”

.

But again I sing,

.

“I may not know where I’m going,

but I walk anyway;

May not know what I’m doing,

but I’ll try with grace.

I may not know where I’m going,

I’ll just find my way.

I always do.

.

I may not know where I’m going,

but I walk anyway;

May not know what I’m doing,

but I’ll find my grace.

I may not know where I’m going,

I’ll just find my way.

I always do.

.

I always do.

.

And so will you.”

Stream of ConsciousnessSong LyricsMental HealthinspirationalFree Verse
4

About the Creator

Lindsay Sfara

I'm just a daydreaming nerd writing poetry and fiction about mental health.

Follow my novel journey and more: linktr.ee/lindsaysfara

"Not all those who wander are lost" - J.R.R. Tolkien

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Lovely poem!

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Love the flow of this, the contrast between her dreams and the advice she’s given, and her song to herself. Nicely done! Also this line “ blood buzzes to a new dawn.” is excellent. In stanza seven, did you mean to say self and not shelf? Apologies if you did-I just thought I’d check in case!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.