Poets logo

Hypnotizing Hazel

If Shakespeare wrote a soul tie

By Jessica S FlayserPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Red Pandas Kissing

The subway cars rock back and forth making a musical sound,

Underground and southbound my mind goes back to this afternoon,

A moment so magical and atypical, even now my heart pounds.

At Central Park Zoo gazing at butterflies who’d just left their cacoon

Between the snow leopards and red pandas I saw you- it was about 3:15.

Your eyes were hazel, your skin was hazel,

Your complexion glowing - what’s your skincare routine?

It must involve vitamin e oil, maybe clays masks, or witch hazel.

When you caught me staring at you and gave me a smile

I knew that I would like to see you again,

Like maybe on our wedding day, or the delivery room of our first child.

Can we name her Hazel? Or if it’s a boy, Ben?

I don’t know how long I was staring, but I wish it were for longer.

I want you to meet my family and make this instant connection stronger.

You stopped my whole world when you came over and said

“I like your hoodie, it’s a nice color on you”.

I could barely form the words “thank you” with all the thoughts in my head.

It’s been just me for so long, but you can change my one to a forever two.

I’m so happy you took my number, and want to know my favorite song.

I’m so happy I met you, after today, I know both our worlds will change.

If we had more time today, our conversation would've been hours long.

I’m so happy I met you! Cupid shot me at close range.

I've always been a visual learner, but this afternoon I was a visual yearner.

Maybe I manifested you, after years of a solo life.

If that’s the case, this love story will be a page-turner,

A story of how, in a moment you stole my heart, without a gun or knife.

The heart you stole, I’d readily give, to look at you so long as I live.

Until we’re old, any wrongs you did, I’ll surely forget and always forgive.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Jessica S Flayser

Jessica Flayser was born in Manhattan, New York City. After receiving her Bachelor's in English from Brooklyn College, Jessica published her first work of literature "Beach, City, Villages". The romantic dramedy is available everywhere.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.