Poets logo

Hymn of the Heretic

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I'm the unholiest of nights

I am nocturnal antichrists

I am the intifada phantom

Blacking out the Israelites

I am the netherworld Rohingya

To Gautama's paradise

I can indulge in my salvation

For a fraction of the price

I am the spice of life aboard

Malagasy pirate ships

I am the pyramids of greed

Built atop the cracks of whips

I get on nerves of your Nirvana

I'm the burning Book of Mormon

I'm a hundred years of war

And famine, plagues and locusts swarmin'

I am 47 ronin

To the Hiroshima priest

As they Shinto Harakiri

I am rising in the east

I am the fracture in the caste

Of the Brahmin’s brittle bones

I am the wrath of jealous deities

On Mount Olympus thrones

I'm the cult of personality

The Satan's circle level

I'm the hammer and the sickle

I'm the patron saint of rebel

I'm the heathen Eden extremist

The radical depiction

Of Muhammad's severed head

Adorned in crowns of crucifixion

I'm the Xenu Voodoo Guru

I'm the omniversal cosmic view

The lord of space and time

And now my thetan horde awakens you

From sins of your mortality

I know them all too well

You place your faith in heaven

But I make mine here in hell

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.