Poets logo

Humbling Moment

a poem of surrender

By Canaan TricePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Humbling Moment
Photo by Eva Darron on Unsplash

you grow taller as i get smaller

we once stood side by side

the façade has been revealed and here i am beneath you

still stumbling in surprise

by something i have always known

my bones are brittle, my voice is weak

i won’t stand up, i can’t speak

your weeds hold me tightly

you’ve been gone for a while now

but the residue still lingers

today someone new will come in to clean it all up

tending to the roots that once produced beautiful fruit

i tried to do it myself

here is where i learn to ask for help

i lay down my ambitions

i lay down my expectations

i lay down my suffering

shouting out in exasperation

come, tend to the roots beneath

.

.

i owe him everything

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Canaan Trice

Hi, my name is Canaan. I am just a girl who loves to write about the life happening around me and within me. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.