Poets logo

stained glass heart

a poem on intimacy

By Canaan TricePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
stained glass heart
Photo by Marina Zorg on Unsplash

broken in tiny pieces

discovering what is next?

delusional derangement tied together with a bow

my insanity looks simple next to the chaos that encapsulates me

struggling to breathe

waiting for an answer

i choose me

i may be wise but i’ve slipped into the comfort of numbers

it’s safe here

more is better

cutting you out to save myself

i can’t breathe

my heart

on a key chain gifted to you from me

please be careful

intimacy is a two way street but i’m scared for you to see

my love is not a clear window

obstructed views from the outside in

glass painted with colors that tell you how i doing

the walls of my mind tell you stories of who i am

a work of art carefully crafted by the one who created me

but i choose who gets to see this masterpiece

i fall fast and forgive quickly

my love is fragile

a heart easily broken when pressure is applied

but do not mistaken my fragility for weakness

senses heightened

i see you for who you are

i’m a mosaic made at multi faceted colors and schemes

a collection of emotions and feelings

my stained glass heart tells a story but only once i’ve let down the walls i’ve built up tall and sturdy

maybe for a second i’ll let you see

the love i hold

the tenderness i carry

take my hand

and see what see

feel what i feel

as i cross over into what is intimacy

i have a stained glass heart

tucked deep inside my chest

these days i choose to wear it around my neck

on display

can you see me?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Canaan Trice

Hi, my name is Canaan. I am just a girl who loves to write about the life happening around me and within me. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.