Poets logo

Human

#VocalNPM

By Katie HundleyPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

My name? Why on earth do I need to tell you my name? I don't need to I don't want to! Okay, I may not know my name. I've gotten so caught up in who society wants me to be that I don't even know me.

I have to be beautiful. I have to be tall. I have to spend my money on makeup just to make up for not being born perfect.

My name. Do I get to choose? Nevermind, that would be silly. I just need to keep my head down. I can't talk, I just need to walk, but where am I going?

When given the freedom to choose I don't know what to do because I'm used to not getting to choose. My hair needs to be long, my waist thin, my breasts semi-exposed for men that don't listen because I'm just supposed to be an over-sexualized 10. I need to be a doll for their pleasure. But I also need to be a proper lady and lately I haven't felt like either of those options are right for me.

I'm not that beautiful. I'm not that tall. I'm not perfect. I try! I get tired of having my head down. My hair isn't long. My waist isn't thin and I would like to keep my breasts in my shirt because they aren't for men!

I refuse to be a doll. My voice may be small but I'm getting tired of being told who to be when I just want to be me. I am not some robot who will let society say I'm not human. I will not say I am a doll that needs to get back in her box. I won't go back in there on display for them to slay with their cruelty. I have a choice! I have a voice! So try to fix my skin to make it porcelain. Try to uncross the wires that twist. But I don't care what you think or say. You're not the reason I wake up and you can't take my voice away!

I have a choice. I am not a doll or robot. I am not less than a man because I'm a woman. I am worth something. And I am human.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Katie Hundley

Poet and short story teller just trying to express who I am and share a different side of me.

Insta: @katie.loves.cuddles

Twitter: Katie_lives

Snap: Katie.Lives

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.