Poets logo

Howl

“Tell me how all this, and love too, will ruin us.” — Richard Siken, Scheherazade

By Daniel OkulovPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
39

tell me a tale. just one more.

draw out a new epic in your mind to limn

for me and gulf the mire that owns you

with a wave not shed from my eyes.

but tone down all the blue this time.

add a hint of gold,

a dash of hot pink, or teal, or jade,

any rich hue to lure the gaze away

from damp soil, a name cut into gray slab,

and a vase of iris set to wilt—

a gift less for you,

and more to calm the soul who left it

in lieu of an obol to help you rest.

wake up and tell me a tale

that ends with no void to fill.

any tale, even one that hits home,

hits hard and digs deep,

into the skin, down to the bone,

like the wolf trap that bit my shin

when we ran past the edge of the wood,

too high on life to mind each step,

too numb to pain to pace with care,

fast feet apt to trip.

tell me a tale but omit the end

so its jaws won’t snap shut on the last leg

of our trek. this time i can’t

limp home with your arm to lean on.

toss me a line

from any poem, any myth,

any word from your lips

to lug me out of this rift,

or i’ll claw my way in to join you.

take me back to that wood

the same way you took me out

when a gash from sole to calf

tore my grin into a howl.

a firm palm on my back, a soft tone

to curb any fear, of the rust,

of the shot: your “i’m here,

you can make it, don’t fret.

it’ll scab. it’ll heal.

so what if you have a scar?

wear it as a sign of your grit,

like a hero, like a god.

you know who else has a scar on his heel?”

you wove each myth into a cast,

a vial to heal the ache,

to hush the wyrm of pain

that got cozy in my core,

its low hiss soon to be lost by the veil of your lilt.

let’s make a deal.

i’ll try my hand at your art and tell this tale,

then you show me how it’s done.

i’ll spin a saga and you lay out the lore,

fill in the gaps, but don’t tell me the end.

this one’s set in the wood, by the old red oak

who knit us cots in the soil out of root and bark.

we’d lie in the dirt and peer past its arms at a dead sky.

not one star,

not one spot of fire

to defy the cold, vast void.

just the lone moon, a pale bow in the dusk:

like a ship you’d fold from a note card

then set it free to sail in a sea of ink.

a thin ship with a weak hull,

wary of its fate to sink.

a glum moon in a drab sky,

wary of its fate to wane

as it’s dyed into a new moon.

as it dies with a new moon in its wake.

but it’s keen to dive into the ink,

and feel it seep into each nook,

keen to swim and soak it up fast

to get the end over with.

for once, the moon won’t have a solo to sing,

for once, it won’t have to be all on its own.

i said i’d tell a tale, not that it’d be mine.

you own this one. it’s you who’s the bard.

i kept each word you ever said in my head

so that i can’t bury it with you.

nature poetrysad poetrylove poems
39

About the Creator

Daniel Okulov

part-time writer. full-time neurotic. semi-reclusive goblin.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Beautiful

  • Helen Seder10 months ago

    This was beautiful and a wonderful read! So lyrical - absolutely deserved top story!

  • Missclicked10 months ago

    just WOW!. congratulations on top story!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Magnificent!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    Exceptional. Congratulations on a well deserved top story that must be in the frame for the win! 👏👏👏

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    In Stratford-upon-Avon, a Bard smiled in his forever sleep. Well done. Congrats.

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Superb poetry, you definitely earned a subscriber.

  • It's you, that's the bard...sing us a tale! Great job. Congrats on the top story

  • Sardar Rayyan10 months ago

    liked this very much i appreciate this!

  • Amanda Starks10 months ago

    This is so beautiful and heart-wrenching. Raw, guttural, and very symbolic with masterful metaphors and imagery. Thank you so much for sharing. You got a follower out of me!!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Congratulations! I liked this very much.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Oh my. This is just beautiful. Congrats on the TS

  • Congratulations on your Top Story❤️💯🎉

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Truly outstanding work. Congratulations!

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Yes! Congrats on Top Story, Daniel! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    Those ending lines are spectacular 🌟👏💕 Excellent writing! Congrats on top story

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    This is breathtaking. There were too many marvellous lines to pick out my favourite. If this is for the Short and Sweet Challenge I hope it wins. It definitely deserves it

  • Suze Kay11 months ago

    Richard Siken is one of my absolute favorite poets, and this poem does him justice. Humongous accomplishment on this piece, Daniel.

  • Michèle Nardelli11 months ago

    wow!

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    This is absolutely superb. The diction, the parallelism, the wordplay. And your subject is breathtakingly GORGEOUS. I can't get over that part where "you" comforts the speaker by comparing him to Achilles (but you don't say that, no, no). Honestly, I was hooked at the subtitle--LOVE Scheherazade and you delivered beyond expectations on that quote. I think my favorite lines are: "as it’s dyed into a new moon. as it dies with a new moon in its wake." The wordplay and parallelism here are just too cool. And they don't stand out as weird or tacky, either. The stanza these are in is probably my favorite due to the repeated words and slant/internal rhymes throughout. "i kept each word you ever said in my head so that i can’t bury it with you." Goddamn, that is an incredible phrase, a poem in and of itself. You left me feeling like love such as this is the epitome. I want to ask "how dare you??" but instead I feel like congratulating you. Well done, sir. And you used words I hadn't ever heard of to great effect (namely, "limn" and "obol"). Seriously, Daniel, if this doesn't win, I will be flabbergasted. Holy sh*t. 😱🤯🫠 PS: I'm nominating this for a Top Story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.