Poets logo

how to wait

(for you)

By Sara Published 6 months ago 1 min read
9

1. Check to see if you replied even though I know you didn’t.

2. Repeat # 1.

3. Look in the mirror

4. Curse the tired eyes in it, always waiting.

5. Smear lip gloss on chapped lips.

6. Perfume. In case.

7. Maybe I should change? Also in case.

8. No I shouldn’t change.

9. Brush teeth. Ten times. Until my gums bleed.

10. Am I stupid for thinking you’ll ever reply.

11. Put on sweatpants. It’s getting late.

12. Repeat # 1. More than once.

13. Why do I do this to myself.

14. No, why do I let you do this to me.

15. Shove my phone somewhere I can’t reach.

16. Wake up with black streaks on my cheek.

17. Don’t cry. Again.

18. Cry anyway.

19. Who am I kidding?

20. I can’t do this anymore.

21. Do it anyway.

For Poppy’s challenge. Thank you for the inspiration.

heartbreaklove poems
9

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Oh my. That is heartbreaking. Beautifully done.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    So many of us have been there, done that so many arrive at the conclusion so late. But better late than never, Well said.

  • Very sad, but cleverly done 1.2.3. Challenge… repeating #1.

  • Zara Blume6 months ago

    I had to check out this challenge for myself! This is such a creative take on it. I don’t relate to it, but I love reading things I don’t relate to. This has broadened my perspective. The cognitive dissonance between ‘I can’t do this anymore’ and ‘Do it anyway’ says it all. It’s an addiction. Now I understand. We all have nasty habits, and the narrator of this poem has a habit of seeking attention from those who won’t give it. If this is autobiographical, the raw honesty of it is rare and spectacular. If this was written from observing someone you love go through this, I hope they see it with the clarity you do one day.

  • Poppy 6 months ago

    This is sooo relatable. I can remember a specific time in my life when I was checking for their message so much I'd dream about it and then wake up not knowing if it happened or not. I love the way you use simple sentences to say so much and include so much emotion. 'Brush teeth. Ten times. Until my gums bleed.' Was an especially visceral line. Also, did you share this in my comments? It says in my notifications that you did but I can't see it in my actual comments. Could be a problem on my end though because something similar happened to me the other day. Anyway, thank you so much for entering. This is a great poem Sara!

  • I feel attacked, lol! I'm soooo guilty of doing this!

  • Been there. Love the way you wrote it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.