Poets logo

How to Find a Time Machine

A Poem By: Kelsey Syble

By Kelsey SyblePublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Image: Pexels / Anastasiya Vragova

Dear Mom,

At thirty-one, you dreamed of me,

in the aftermath of my lost sibling.

You prayed and wept and promised peace.

And in return, you were granted a baby in pink.

At thirty-four, you nurtured me,

in the wake of the "Terrible Twos" we were experiencing.

You played and read and encouraged my dreams.

And in return, I dreamt big things.

At forty-five, you worried for me.

You watched me chase and people-please,

and wiped my tears while whispering softly:

"The story doesn't end here, darling."

At twenty-two, I graduated college,

the accomplishment you'd always wanted for me.

I hugged you and Dad goodbye excitedly,

right before I moved halfway across the country.

You smiled through the tears and grit your teeth

to keep the pain inside, selflessly.

At twenty-six, I experienced heartache,

and thought of you often.

Sometimes I'd call you and sob,

"I'm moving home."

But because you inspired me to embrace change,

adventure,

and, of course, my dreams,

you swallowed your tears

to remind me that I had built a life away from home;

a life I could not leave.

At twenty-nine, my heart throbs,

for the years with you

that I took for granted.

So now I write this letter,

pleading for you to tell me

how to find a time machine.

I wish I could return

to when I was terribly two,

or dreadfully thirteen,

or even simply your miracle baby in pink.

Love always,

Kelsey

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Kelsey Syble

A Southern-born-and-raised writer now navigating life in NYC.

📸 🎥 @kelseysyble

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    So much we take for granted that experience makes us realise.

  • Carly Bush8 months ago

    It really is a bizarre feeling when you start to reach the age your mother was when she had you, isn't it? I've been very reflective about that myself this year, as the realization settled in that I have lived a very different sort of life.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.