Poets logo

How does it feel to be old?

A Old Women Poem

By SamihaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
How does it feel to be old?
Photo by Danie Franco on Unsplash

My body is weak,

I'm feeling empty and bleak,

My bones can't hold,

I can't live long, oh lord!

I can barely hear,

My eyesight unclear,

Every word is hard to catch,

They think I'm dispatched,

My fingers are shaking,

People are pointing,

My hair is white,

I sleep alone tonight,

My husband is gone,

I am alone,

Perfect lines of my skin,

Not sure, how I'll fare in this world I'm in.

My stick is my companion,

Unvalued, my opinion

There's pain all over my body,

My knees are knobby,

The food is hard to chew,

That pot of rice is hard to brew,

My memory long fails me,

I no longer remember my hidden house key,

They call me "The Old Woman"

with no less a penny and a can,

And my stick slips from my shaking hand,

I tumble on the scorching sand,

The kids point and laugh at me,

"Oh wow, look at the stupid woman you see"

I scowl and try to collect myself together,

An old woman at sight, what a displeasure!

I stare at the sky through a blurry view,

Oh how fast I grew,

Some people help me get up, I say something,

My words are jumbling,

This was the end of life,

It was almost time to go.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Samiha

I'm a fan of poetry. I'm in love with words that are created through imagination.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.