Poets logo

How Can We Make a Difference?

Together, little by little.

By Li-Li 📓Published about a year ago • 1 min read
Like

How can one person like me

Make a difference?

Am I not just one tiny grain of sand

On an endless beach?

I have fears and I have doubts

So wrapped up in my own world

So caught up in my own life

I forget to see what is around me

The lives of others;

Not so simple as I judged

I am but one tiny element

In the entire universe

Do I dare to stand out?

We are all so alike

Yet so very different

Some stand out against the crowd

While others blend in

Fade out

I can change the world

Little by little

I am like everyone else

But I am different

You cannot stereotype me

I do not hang out with

A certain "crowd" of people

I can change the world

Through the power of my words

Starting with thoughts in my mind

I release them on paper

Little by little

We all make a difference

We all play a part

In each other's lives

We do not all realize it

Whether it be the lost child,

Which whom you returned to their mother

Whether it be the lost dog

Which whom you reunited with its owner.

The lady that you opened the door for

The extra tip you left for the young waiter

Who is barely making it.

The kind words you spoke to save

The confused teenage who

Planned out how he would

Take his life.

The shoulder you let a friend cry on

The ear you lend to the outsider

Who has no one to talk to.

The gifts you were blessed with

Helping hands

To rebuild a home for a family

Who lost everything

We are all but one

T i n y

Grain of sand

On an endless beach

The waves of life come crashing in

We stick together

We can make a difference

We are the ones who will.

I can stand up for what I believe in,

But so can you.

We laugh,

We cry

All in the same language.

I am no better than you,

I am no worse than you.

Our purpose is far too great

To walk around aimlessly

To be accomplished alone.

When we finally realize that,

One day, we can be one with

Each other

The Earth

The

U n i v e r s e.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Li-Li 📓

Just a modest woman living in a modern world, writing about what I know while embracing life’s simple pleasures, & finding solace in the rhythm of words and the unconditional love of my dog. ♥

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.