Poets logo

How Can I Translate

Thy Beauty to Greek

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 10 months ago 1 min read

How can I translate thy beauty to Greek

Where Athena’s love is in every tree?

I wrote you in Shakespeare’s tongue and cheek

Where a king’s sword could be also his key.

O Anthi, who fills my chest with yearning!

How can I poetise your praise in Greece

When meaning can be at sea in learning

Condemning me to aim for a showpiece?

It will be a different love story

With more roots leading to your core stem’s heart.

In the sense of life, it would be glory

To witness fiction bequeathing its art.

Anthoula, daughter of Athena’s wit!

Our tale may become real, one could admit.

-----

Alternatino - The World's Worst Translator

love poems

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Manisha Dhalani10 months ago

    Okay, wow, I liked this but I wasn't sure - what inspired you to write this Patrick?

Patrick M. OhanaWritten by Patrick M. Ohana

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.