Poets logo

Housekeeping

In A Minute

By ROCK Published 14 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - April 2024
38
Housekeeping
Photo by Giuseppe Gallo on Unsplash

Reading glasses swinging back and forth, dangling from a drug store string slung around my neck I said, to myself of course, I never want to wear this kind of thing. But now I do, sometimes. I like the idea of relaxing, being a comfortable woman of the home, swinging open the door in a batik housedress, casually welcoming someone in, pets or as the French say, animals for company, something like that. As if pets had no other reason to be. Years of watching women folding, unfolding, refolding socks, sheets, dinner napkins, a lot happens in those moments of freshly laundered piles heaped onto the sofa, better the dining room table as long as it’s clean of course. My grandparents hung it all out in the sun, flopping away without a care, ironing sheets was necessary. When my paternal grandmother died, the very night she passed over the clothesline, into the black heavens sprinkled with sequins of silver, she came to me in a dream. I stood at a table folding clothes, I became aware that there was someone next to me folding as well. I first recognized her hands, red and wrinklie, with age spots. “Nanny?” I didn’t look toward her; she said in her most comforting southern way, “Don’t be afraid.” Then I turned toward the left looking up, up, up, and there she was all in white, a long crisp gown, fresh and smiling. “I love you.” She’d spoke. Then she was gone.

All the years of tucking my family’s socks into little balls, checking that stains from homemade baby food I’d pureed had come out of small cotton onesies with tiny bunnies or kittens, animals for company, it made sense. In what now is the sublime, separating socks and time; when squabbles were over who goes first, or if my husband, or uncle, made the turkey or if we should just call it off; a time when potty training toddlers, house training doggies, trying to read a poem in a magazine, or take a coffee in the sun turned like the minute hand on the clock. To steal a moment of memories of everyone, of how it should be now, could have been then, what regrets were tossed in amongst the years, folding, unfolding. For a pause, a place within one single minute a sense of calmness, falls over me; the windows need washing and there’s a time for that.

Free Verse
38

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Mika Oka2 days ago

    Congrats!

  • Anna 8 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Michelle Liew12 days ago

    Something similar happened when my own grandmother passed. Poignant, Rock.Well done, and congrats !!

  • Novel Allen12 days ago

    Such a beautiful tribute of the minute it takes to recall a loved one. Very unique and heartfelt read.

  • Andrea Corwin 12 days ago

    OMG - First, CONGRATULATIONS!! Second - the line about many passing over the clothesline and the description of the sky were Fantastically Fabulous. This entire poem is unusual, down-to-earth and real, a heart-tugger. ❤️😍😍😍

  • Beautiful!!!! Couldn’t take my eyes away!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 days ago

    gorgeous writing ROCK! Congrats on your TOP STORY!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Remember those sheets on the line and once dry ironing them, this is so lovely and nostalgic!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Rachel Deeming13 days ago

    I got the dreamlike quality of this, almost mesmeric, like seeing something through gauzy sheets. I liked the way it made me feel.

  • Cathy holmes13 days ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • This was so calming like a lavender wind hitting me! 🌟🥰👌

  • Margaret Brennan13 days ago

    congratulations on TS. This is SO beautiful and precious. I wish my Nanny would visit me more often. When she does, she usually just sits in her chair and smiles.

  • D. D. Lee13 days ago

    Congrats on T.S.

  • JBaz13 days ago

    What a feel good enjoyable read. This really hit the spot Congratulations

  • Oh I loved that dream! Such a wonderful story!

  • Shirley Belk14 days ago

    I can smell those clean sheets now!

  • Cathy holmes14 days ago

    This is such a beautiful story. Well done.

  • passed over the clothesline, into the black heavens sprinkled with sequins of silver. I love this line so much. Such a fantastic visual. Years and years summed up in a minute

  • Gerard DiLeo14 days ago

    Clocks try to corral the infinite, but they fail. Very nice, ROCK. A beautiful reflection on nothing that is, simultaneously, so important.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.