Poets logo

"Hospital Room"

Whisper in his ear, "You ready to go?"

By Erman BaradiPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
"Hospital Room"
Photo by Dyu - Ha on Unsplash

There was a miracle where three nailed still

Two surround the healer upon the hill

One a stealer who mocked through his death

The other asked forgiveness for all of his debts

I found God while staring back at you

I hope you found Him too

Somewhere in your room

I played your favorite song and we

All sang in tune

It's a wonder you made it work

Through the machines and the tubes

May you find closure in your hospital room

May you find closure because I need it too

Dear God, how many years do I have left?

Could I divvy them up between my friends?

I can't stand to see him in the hospital bed

Is the sun going down? I'll stay till then

Should he see you soon

I know he found you in the hospital room

Whisper in his ear, "You did good, you ready to go?

We're headed home."

May you find closure in your hospital room

May you find closure because I need it too

Just in case I got my black suit ready

The girls and their pearls and crying pretty

Whisper in his ear, "You did good, you ready to go?

We're headed home."

May you find closure in your hospital room

May you find closure because I need it too

Whisper in his ear, "You did good, you ready to go?

We're headed home."

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Erman Baradi

"To be human is a lesson you'll learn at the very end."

@ermanbaradi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.