Poets logo

Hope I Am No Dope

Meditation and Its Constraints

By Nicholas GoodmanPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have a hope I'm no dope

And this rope of meditation I keep climbing up will hopefully benefit

But how do I release my increase of want?

Because now my desire is for higher states and an easeful life where I don't debate whether or not its worth living.

So do I continue giving my time and hope the sublime light of grace allows me to rhyme right to a place with newfound vision?

Will this increase my intuition?

Living in a society where hard work and variety is necessary

Will I be able to examine the hairy insides of my mind

possibly find some of the reasons

I call treason on this reality?

Is it true I am stuck in the duality?

Does my life revolve around the spinning wheel

where karma continues to reel me closer to the center of suffering?

Are any of my practices buffering me away?

Is there anything useful I can say?

I act graciously and kind

I give while trying to find more knowledge

But they offer no classes at this college I wish to study

And I have nobody who is endeavoring alongside

I feel separate in stride with the others in my tribe

As if we vibe at alternating frequencies

I have tendencies to watch more then play

And because of my strange path I'm worried I won't stay relevantly interesting

What is my individual thing?

With hundreds of millions how will I find something new to bring?

Does my voice not sound like the others who sing?

Haven't we crafted millions of rings?

I am a drop in the water, a human fodder

But my life has value to me

Perhaps it causes colossal entropy to all I see

Slowly sucking away energy

Converted into waste while I taste delicacies

These are the tendencies from those without awareness of impact

Those who swiftly react to what seems most beneficial to the moment

And perhaps I don't condone it because I'm praying the future won't bring wounds we need to suture

That is, if we wish for our fish to stay

Or our planet to strive instead of decay

All of this is built on the belief that I can create my own relief from the multiplicity of grief that does surround

I see others drown in sorrow

Hoping to borrow a moment of compassion

for their lost in the fashion of disturbed passion

Always reaching but never teaching

Always yearning never learning

Always burning never turning their habits into profound beauty

What if you got addicted to your duty?

And all movements rose the sadness into gladness

I'd bless the mess we made

if we all agreed the price we have paid for mistakes

And our past still taunts us

So we lash out at those related

When we were created we had no desire to destroy any fire

Your passion burned with concerned thoughts

You begged we remember that love is more enjoyable than fear

Tried to call us near

But our society and culture was crafted as the vulture

Waiting to pick off the weak

Instead of trying to help the meek

Maybe I yelp in the bleak because in my heart anything but love is strange

Maybe I whine because I experienced the wine, crafted by the divine

I was drunk and felt as if every object was a sign

Pointing me back into my own heart

And when I awoke from my intoxicated state

I had no debate I would make that my fate

But every object now feels like a gate

I must find a unique key to unlock

And all I can do is talk and talk

Walk in circles round the bound state I have found myself in

It was open before but as I begin

Knowing there's more bliss to feel

I also wonder if I should focus on what others consider real

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nicholas Goodman

Poet. Writer. Avid Tea enthusiast. Truth seeker. Love maker. Wondering what makes the world smile and how I can create that in words.

https://www.instagram.com/alloflovespoetry/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.