Poets logo

Hope

All I Have Left

By Joseph AkaguPublished 22 days ago 1 min read
3
Hope (photocredit- iStock)

In the midst of hunger, I pushed through the challenge. I was not meant to be there, it was for the rich, but I am. My apparels were worn out, my bare sole had almost taken over underneath my shoes. I had no penny to offer the cobbler. I just want to earn the teachers knowledge. He told me that if I do, I shall buy better shoes.

I desire independence of the mind, I desire liberation from ignorance, I desire knowledge in its full essence, I would tread my shoes for it, my clothes for a place on the teachers table. The teacher assured me that with my pen and my books, I shall eat to my fill and I did. He told me the truth.

But I am now in the world, I have ate to abundance on the teacher’s table, but I have been bequeathed with no way to make my own impact. Where do I go from here? I am but naked in my patched clothes, my shoes have made way underneath, but my bare sole complements.

The employer has his mind on the sons of the rich, he needs them for patronage. I have asked for a chance that I may make him grow, but the future means nothing, he wants it now. For him, tomorrow may not come. But I have hope.

I will not lose sight of what my teacher said. He told me to look ahead, he said the road ahead is greater, so I will tarry on. I have eaten abundantly from the table of knowledge, I shall wait and count on hope. Teacher said it never fails, I know it will not fail. It has visited many, it shall visit me. Hope is all I have left.

vintageStream of Consciousnessnature poetryheartbreakart
3

About the Creator

Joseph Akagu

Joseph is a talented writer whose passion for writing is evident in every work he produces. His attention to detail and knack for captivating his audience sets him apart. I urge you to join him in this voyage of discovery.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake22 days ago

    I see a different perspective through this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.