Poets logo

Home

Sweet Home

By Dana StewartPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
24
Home
Photo by Angga Ranggana Putra on Unsplash

Ding dong chimes the bell

As I sip on my tea

Maybe the neighbor wants to sit a spell

Who else could it be?

~

I tighten my bathrobe

And run my fingers through my hair

But it’s a green thing with a funny looking ear lobe

On my porch just standing there

~

It points to a busted spaceship

Crashed and stuck in the snow

My house is not supposed to be this intergalactic trip

So I smile and say Hello!

~

‘Take me to your… ‘

The little guy utters in a squeaky unusual voice

As he pushes his way through the door

And says 'take me to whoever has a choice'

~

I tell him he’s in luck, this is my domain

My humble abode is my castle

And while it’s not much I do like to entertain

But I’m kinda weird and don’t want any hassle

~

He seemed to relax

As I fumbled with the lock

Asked me if I could share a snack

alien appetizers - quite a shock

~

His orange tongue licked the cat

I screamed out ‘That’s not a good plan’!

Fluffy is a pet, we don’t eat that!

Try this whizz -it’s cheese, in a can

~

We can hang out in the living room

Doing Zumba takes a bit of skill

Maybe call some friends on Zoom

or we can watch Netflix without the chill

~

Listen to some hot jazz

With a glass of wine

and you can taste pizzazz

Write a short story maybe get a byline

~

So much to do

Within these walls

Stare at the mountain view

in the morning we’ll clean horse stalls

~

There’s a lot of scary people out there

We don’t have to worry or roam

We can play cards - rummy, gin, I don’t care

order in some Chinese and just stay home

~

A little pink tear dotted the corner of his eye

And I knew he wanted to stay with me adjacent

Little guy, don’t cry

You can live in my basement

humor
24

About the Creator

Dana Stewart

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Aliens will never leave your home . Lucky Alien !

  • C. H. Richard6 months ago

    This one was so cute 😊

  • Gina C.7 months ago

    This was fun, magical, and done with such wonderful rhyme and rhythm, Dana! 🥹❤️ I'm so sorry I missed this gem. "Netflix without the chill" was so cute and made me giggle :) So sorry I've been away for awhile -- I'm slowly trying to nudge back into Vocal land 🥹

  • Harmony Kent7 months ago

    This had me riveted. Wonderful rhythm and rhyme. And so fun as well. Brilliantly done, Dana! One of my fave alien poems so far 💕😊

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Awww sweet little alien dude 😁

  • Awe this was sweet and funny

  • Netflix without the chill 😂📝👍💚

  • Test7 months ago

    Your writing is so pretty.

  • You are now the official intergalactic bed and breakfast. Great poem

  • Raymond G. Taylor7 months ago

    Love it! Stay home, why not? It's double sweet and where the heart is. A mountain view too? What more do you need? Think I'd skip the Netflix, though. I spend more time looking for something to watch than watching it. End up watching the same thing over again. Beautifully imagined and written. Well done!

  • Aaliyah Madison7 months ago

    Great job Dana! 😊

  • Watch Netflix without the chill! Hahahahahhaha I literally Lol-ed at that! Love your poem!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Awe, the simple things, he's loving it.

  • Phil Flannery7 months ago

    That was a lot of fun. I hope any aliens listening got the message to visit you first and not the leaders.

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    Cute stuff! Great job Dana! 😊

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Cute poem. Basements available? Loading up my space craft now! 😂

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    😅 Ummm... You might want to keep him away from the cat though, lol. Loved your entry, Dana!

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    this is so adorable!! 😍 and I'm glad you didn't let him eat Fluffy!!😂😂

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Dana, Love it!!! There's no place like home with a friend or alien!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Haha. This is great.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.