Poets logo

Home

Is Where I Belong

By Jenn KirklandPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Home
Photo by Dakota Lim on Unsplash

Your home is where you hang your hat,

Or so it's often said,

But when I'm home I'd rather hang,

With my kids instead.

We live alone here now, you see,

Since their father died,

And mostly we can get along,

And God knows how I've tried.

But creditors and landlords tend,

To think in terms of cash,

Instead of that which mothers do,

And make treasure from trash.

I want enough to live upon,

And extras for the kids,

I don't mind working hard at all,

But sometimes life forbids.

Look, I am a single mom,

Both Mom and Dad to them,

I hold their lives within my hands,

But moms the world condemns.

"You should have saved," they say, aghast,

"Lived not above your means!"

Well, sure I should have, yes, it's true,

But let's not go to extremes.

This is my home, my life, my place,

It's where I raise my teens,

It's where I go when I am tired,

That's not beyond my means.

My home's a mobile one, you see,

Though never does it travel,

This home sits here upon this space,

Lest our lives unravel.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Jenn Kirkland

I'm a kinda-suburban, chubby, white, brunette, widowed mom of a teen and a twenty-something, special services school bus driver, word nerd, grammar geek, gamer girl, liberal snowflake social justice bard, and proud of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.