Poets logo

Home

Hard to define.

By Rebecca harmsworthPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Home
Photo by Amin Hasani on Unsplash

The thing I miss when I’m far away,

The place I always want to stay,

The sound that takes me back in time.

Home.

The smell in the street that transports me far,

The pop of a lid fresh off the jar,

The view from the trees that I used to climb.

Home.

The feel of the shower wetting my hair,

The blanket that’s always a little threadbare,

The paths of snails marked by their slime.

Home.

The shelf full of all my things,

The silly songs my mother sings,

The feeling I reach for more overtime.

Home.

The thrum of pain that seizes my heart,

The sadness I feel as my friends part,

The doubt that creeps in, spins my mood on dime.

Home?

Do I know what I’m feeling?

Are my thoughts real?

Yes.

The safety of knowing,

When dark’s all that’s showing,

Someone will tell me ‘Just take your time.’

Home.

By Gemma Chua-Tran on Unsplash

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Rebecca harmsworth

Dealing with my mental health and trying to find my place in the world.

@write.with.me.now on Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.