Poets logo

Home is Where the Heart is

Poetry: BreaKup

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Home is Where the Heart is
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

Home is where the Heart is

They say home is where the heart is,

Well, my heart feels displaced.

Where it belongs can no longer be my home,

And it feels as if part of me has been erased.

I’m living where I grew up,

And being here feels comfortable,

But it's not where my hearts centers,

And living without it feels irreplaceable.

That saying is inspired by who someone was,

How your heart revolves around who and where you love,

But when your person who is home, is no longer,

You feel as if you no longer belong anywhere.

You embraced everything they were for years,

They were who you planned your future with and around,

Setting your outlandish ideas aside,

And settling on a comfortable life of love with them.

They were what made you whole,

Who made you feel loved, accepted and a sense of belonging,

They gave you what nobody else could,

And when you give that part of yourself to them,

They become your safe place.

Then when you lose that,

It's like a hurricane through your heart,

Displacing everything you knew to be true,

Where you lost what was home to you.

I love my family and friends,

And this town is the makeup of who I am,

And although it's considered my home,

It will never be as much of a home as he was to me.

I’m content with my decision to be here,

Making the best out of a painful transition,

And I'm lucky to be surrounded with love,

And even though I’m home, I can't say this is where my heart is,

But maybe someday it will be.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.