Poets logo

Home

My Home By Andrea Reed

By Andrea ReedPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My version of Home

To most people home is a place

Where you experienced love

A memory trapped in your mind of happy thoughts

A meal that when you smell it causes a smile

The memories so fresh they stay in your mind for awhile

Home is a place that brought you comfort

Even if you failed you know that you could always go home

Home to me is not a place

Home to me was not a happy memory

Home to me caused fear and pain

A place that I would dare not return

I’ve always felt homeless but had a home

I didn’t realize home until I made my own

It was not the place or the area I lived

It was the people my friends and my kids

My husband my dogs and the feelings of calm

The smiles the laughs the screams and cries

The smell of peppermint

A house that’s been freshly cleaned and bleached

I now feel safe and complete

I didn’t have a home, so I created my own

My terms my choices the ultimate goal

To have a home

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.