Poets logo

HOMEbody

H is for home

By robert rowePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

What home means to me. Hmmm, it hits me like a reverie.

H is for hello.

O is for oligarchy.

M is for mercy.

E is for epiphany.

My hello into the world I thought I knew everything. I had family and they revolved around their son. Safety and security were my home. A rare carefree childhood was my definition and perception of what home was and should be.

Then things changed and I became a teen. Suddenly the only importance was to be seen. My ideal home became one of acceptance governed by those I thought I knew as friends. I remained in this oligarchy identity far too long. Dancing in a home to notes of someone else's song.

Moving and discovering making homes where you are. Living and loving travelling near and far. Being woken back up to Hello by the loss of those you most intimately know. Does one have the power to grant their own mercy? Is your identity your home or is it all just hearsay?

Sleeping, dreaming, then waking up to loss, thoughts of things I could and should have done.

Missing those who raised you, your home's foundation undone. Judgement and guilt seem to say you can't go home, but the truth is you already are.

I AM therefore I AM has been my greatest conscious epiphany. My home is in the moment. There is no right or wrong, I've been home all along...

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

robert rowe

Starting again...anything is possible in my imagination......stay tuned

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.