Poets logo

Holy Ground

A poem I always come back to.

By Rachel ColleenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Rachel Colleen

Say I’m your sky and I'll spread my arms wide over your world,

be the ozone layer that shelters your skin.

Make me your sea and I'll swell in time with your inhale and exhale,

be the crest of the wave when you stand on the shore.

Take off your shoes and I'll be your holy ground,

bow your head and I'll admire your eyelids from below while you pray.

***

Call me man’s best friend and I’ll bring you the newspaper,

be the companion by your side, always.

If we’re a pair of elephants then I'll mourn when you're gone,

be the one to stand vigil beside your still body.

Take off your shoes and I'll be your holy ground,

bow your head and I'll admire your eyelids from below while you pray.

***

Show me your endless night and I’ll show you a sunlit morning,

I’ll be the gentle warmth on your pillow at dawn.

Make me your clock tower and I'll count the seconds I spend lost with you,

I'll be the one to ring in the moments of joy.

Take off your shoes and I'll be your holy ground,

bow your head and I'll admire your eyelids from below while you pray.

***

Make me your hero and I'll fail,

be the one who starts from zero every morning to be worthy of you.

Say I’m your darling and I'll stay,

spread glue on my side and yours and stick the two together.

***

If you take off your shoes, then I’ll be your holy ground.

And if you say I’m yours, I’ll kiss your eyelids while you pray.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Colleen

I grew from deep roots, from people of faith & purpose. I'm a make-it-happen girl trained by generations of strong, stubborn women to get the job done. I am deeply passionate about food, music, story, and how God calls His people. I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.