Poets logo

Holding back the Tears

I need Distraction

By Gerald HolmesPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
17
Photo by Jordan Whitt on Unsplash

This is for my Mother. She passed away on June 06/2023

****************

Denying the tears that threaten to flow as the pain in my heart continues to grow.

Intruding thoughts one after another, show me the face of my suffering mother.

Shattered, I know I need to take action–please lord, bring me some needed distraction.

Take me away from anguish and grief; give me the time to do what she needs.

Release her from pain was all we could see as we made the decision, my sister and me.

Acting on her wishes is what she needs now; please give me strength someway, somehow.

Calls I must make to put things in motion, distract me a little from a sea of emotion.

Trying my best to hold things together; I fight back the pain that eats at the tether.

In moments of calm when I’m alone, I think of you, mom, and know that you’re home.

On wings of pure love you’ll travel soon, to be with your parents swinging on the moon.

Now with a smile I set your soul free, knowing when it’s time you’ll be waiting for me.

heartbreak
17

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    So tangible is the grief. I'm so sorry. My thoughts are with you and Cathy. Cannae say any more.

  • Jazmin Fernandez11 months ago

    Oh, that was after my birthday, so sad. My deepest condolences to your family. And the dust returns to the earth as it was, and the spirit returns to God who gave it.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Condolences and love to you and Cathy, Gerald. So very sorry for your loss. This was a beautiful and very visceral piece. I hope expressing your emotions and the weight of the loss helped in some small way.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    I've been thinking of your family as you've been going through so much. What a tremendous loss. I'm glad you have this outlet to express your emotions. This was so heartfelt and raw and beautiful :)

  • C. Rommial Butler11 months ago

    Many blessings and much love. May your grief forever be a reminder not only of what you lost, but all that you gained. Having lost both of my own parents, I pay forward the blessings they bestowed upon me as often as I can to honor their memory.

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    So sad and so sweet and beautiful - and my condolences to you. 💔

  • I'm so sorry for your loss, Gerald 🥺 Your poem was so emotional. I hope writing this gave you the distraction you needed. Sending you and your family lots of love and hugs!

  • ThatWriterWoman11 months ago

    Woah, what a beautiful tribute from such an awful thing. I am sorry for your loss <3

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Your last line is full of such hope and love ❤

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    I'm sincerely sorry for your loss and glad that you and Cathy both turned to the keyboard for some release. I know it helped me. This was beautiful.

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    So sorry for your loss. Your words here are heartfelt and brilliantly constructed. God bless you and Cathy through these tough times…Amen. 💖🙏

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    I feel your pain. I lost my dad this March and I felt as you do now. You have my utmost condolences.

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Gerald and Cathy- seeing the way you bring beauty from pain lets me know a little about the influence your mother had in you. May you both be always comforted by her memory and example

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    I'm so sorry 4 your loss Gerald! This was beautifully penned!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Oh dear. You got me, Bro. This is beautiful. 😭

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.