Poets logo

His Secret

Plus how I overcame writer's block for this poem

By Derek EversPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
6
His Secret
Photo by Federico Respini on Unsplash

I've been stuck with writer's block lately, and after struggling for days and days, I broke free from it! Well, at least I hope I did!

Anyway, I thought it might be interesting to not only share the poem, but also how I pushed through my writer's block to write it!

I took a MasterClass from Billy Collins a couple of months ago and from that I learned some really helpful tips! One of them was an exercise in which you basically take the form of a poem you enjoy and try to make your own original poem. This exercise is what helped me break through some writing blockage and forced me to get creative in a different way!

Here's my poem "His Secret":

If I should see your eyes again

I know I could not resist

letting my mind wander far

to the time we first kissed.

Or back to the empty theatre

when you were too afraid to hold my hand

and be seen with another boy

but continued on with your demands.

And still we see each other,

scrolling on our lit up screens –

the world will always remind me,

of you, I'm not clean.

But I will leave you in the past

as all good men should do;

and should you tell your secret,

I'll stand here saying – I always knew.

I was thinking of a guy I used to have really strong feelings for while writing this; he actually popped up on a dating app I was using the morning I wrote this. Basically, I was ready to be in an openly gay relationship and he was... already out the door.

Here's the poem I tried to mimic "Jewels" by Sara Teasdale:

If I should see your eyes again

I know how far their look would go –

Back to a morning in the park

With sapphire shadows on the snow.

Or back to oak trees in the spring

When you unloosed my hair and kissed

The head that lay against your knees

In the leaf shadow's amethyst.

And still another shining place

We would remember – how the dun

Wild mountain held us on its crest

One diamond morning white with sun.

But I will turn my eyes from you

As women turn to put away

The jewels they have worn at night

And cannot wear in sober day.

You can definitely see the similarities between these two poems, but Sara's poem has some really beautiful jewel imagery whereas mine is much more straightforward with my emotions.

Overall, it was a really fun exercise and I recommend trying it if you have writers block!

——

Check out my last poem "Secret":

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed, please leave a like, tip, or share with a friend! It really helps support me and I really appreciate it. Thank you! 😊

Let me know your thoughts on Instagram (deverswriting) or Twitter (doitlikederk).

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Derek Evers

Hello! I'm Derek, a writer based in Portland, OR. Author of short stories, poetry, and blog posts about the things that interest me. Be kind to yourself and others, always.

IG: deverswriting

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Melissa de la Cruz2 years ago

    I found this insightful. Thanks for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.