Poets logo

His Question

Why are you not my everything?

By Jordan PoliePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
His Question
Photo by Robert Eklund on Unsplash

I hate that this

could be true

Even if it is

It doesn't matter

He asked

why are you not

my everything

And more

The answer

was a little farther

Follow the white rabbit lie

Down a deep dark hole

Are you even here?

He looked me in the eyes

And asked am I dreaming

When I said yes

He wanted to know...

He wanted to know...

How do I wake up

From sleeping

How does this

become real

He said I want to know...

I want to know how to feel.

I spoke softly

in a whisper

Are you sure

You want this answer

He asked

why wouldn't I want

You to be

my everything?

The answers

Keep getting buried

Farther than caskets

6ft down a dark hole

Can you even hear?

He held my cold flesh

And asked am I dreaming

When I said yes

He wanted to know...

He wanted to know...

How do I wake up

From sleeping

How does this

become real

He said I want to know...

I want to know how to feel.

My voice was a vampire

A bite right

To his neck

As he bled out

I felt his pulse

Race like extinction

And smelled

Whiskey on his exhale

The answer

Sank to the back

Of his brain

in a black hole

Why are we here?

He was near death

And asked am I dreaming

When I said yes

He wanted to know...

He wanted to know...

How do I wake up

From sleeping

How does this

become real

He said I want to know...

I want to know how to feel.

I said if you see

everything

is a bit like me

Then you know

You are awake

But I fear that

Once you arrive

I will be your

worst mistake

So rest your weary eyes

Do not ponder

What ifs, and if you try

You will go back

To living above the ground

Never knowing is what's safe

So let everything go

I will see you in

Another world

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.