Poets logo

Him

Dont Want to Hear, Dont Want To See

By Chrystal HoldrenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Sitting in darkness, I can hear his heart beat fast!

The air is so cold I can see his breath!

I reach out to grab his hand, yet somehow he’s not there!

I call out his name to which I receive no reply!

I can still hear his heartbeat and I can still see his breath, yet I still can not feel him anywhere near!

I turn on the light and I can no longer hear or see yet I can now feel him so close to me!

I again reach out for his hand and this time his hand grabs mine so tight that my hand goes numb!

I start to smell the sweet aroma of citrus, he always bathed in lemons and oranges!

I begin to taste that smell, oh how I love it!

I sit in silence and can not see anything but I still feel him, smell him and taste his smell which means everything to me!

The light goes out and I can once again hear his heart beating fast and see his breath but I no longer feel him, smell him or taste his citrus smell!

Oh how I would give up hearing his heartbeat and seeing his breath to just feel him, smell him, and taste that citrus even if for just one second more!

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Chrystal Holdren

I have always been “messed up” or “crazy”, “psycho” or “nuts” in the eyes of others. I finally realized maybe it’s just easier for those eyes to see me that way instead of trying to understand the pain I’ve been through in my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    I’m taken aback at how sweetly worded this is. Beautiful prose, a story about a heart-wrenching reality. I can relate - I lost a lover to a drug addiction and it was - one of the most tragic and cinematic events that has graced my life. I kept his sweater and didn’t tell his family so I could keep his scent. It faded, but the memories never do. 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.