Poets logo

Not one more smile will I lie

The pain and suffering will no longer cry!

By Chrystal HoldrenPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1

Not one more smile will I lie,

For my eyes and lips must forever be true;

The pain and suffering will no longer cry!

Memories will forever try

To break me down and unglue;

Not one more smile will I lie!

Heartache will attempt to creep on by,

Leaving a trail of broken glass I walk through;

The pain and suffering will no longer cry!

Broken promises that seem to never die,

A ring, a bleak reminder of when we said I do;

Not one more smile will I lie!

Pictures of love still hang up high,

Waiting to fall and break like us too;

The pain and suffering will no longer cry!

Leave me empty without a sigh,

I close this door of burden with no more view;

Not one more smile will I lie,

The pain and suffering will no longer cry!

Villanelle
1

About the Creator

Chrystal Holdren

I have always been “messed up” or “crazy”, “psycho” or “nuts” in the eyes of others. I finally realized maybe it’s just easier for those eyes to see me that way instead of trying to understand the pain I’ve been through in my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was so poignantly beautiful. Loved your Villanelle!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.