Poets logo

Hijab is an Emotion

Wear it loud, wear it proud!

By Aadhila NowfilPublished 3 years ago β€’ 1 min read
1
Hijab is an Emotion
Photo by Habib Dadkhah on Unsplash

Many associate the hijab with oppression

Little do they know, it is my decision

I get to choose the style I wear

Bold and bright colours as I dare

Day one of my new job, I wore it green

Symbolic of new beginnings, what else could it mean?

Connection with nature and its continued growth

The same in my career, I wouldn’t break my oath

The day of my first travel, I wore it yellow

Looked out the plane windows to the clouds, I bid hello

Just like the sun, I brimmed with excitement and energy

Moments that matter, forever stored in my memory

Eid, the biggest celebration of the year

My hijab sparkled to bring on the festive cheer

Like shiny stars, the silver stood bright

Welcoming good vibes, happiness and positive light

The day I lost someone close to my heart

I felt so empty, like my soul had depart

I donned blue like the tears my eyes shed

Sadness, depression and an abundance of dread

The hijab has many misconceptions

Through a single cloth, I sport many expressions

Don’t focus on just the veil on my head

The colours I wear leave so much unsaid

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.