Poets logo

Hide & Seek

Hiders, Seekers, & Finders

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Hide & Seek
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Here I go

feeling like

I’m holding back

again

*

Feeling like

if I told you

how much you still mean to me

you’d put me back on

your broken shelf

*

I don’t give a fuck about my pride

but it hurts to be disregarded

by a person who said they cared

*

Feeling like

as comfortable as

I have always been with you

I have to hide what I truly feel

*

Because hide and seek

is your favorite game

but you don’t want to be found

*

I'm only speaking from my experience

because the person I see that you are

is the person I once was

*

You want to stay

in the safe zone

by the tree

Rather than be caught

by someone that is real

*

It’s safer to stay in the shadows

and never acknowledge

what you truly feel

*

It’s safer to stay stoic

instead of be vulnerable

*

Because love is a dangerous game

when there’s no rules

to how, who, why

when it comes

where it goes

*

And you’ve been hurt all before

Risking it again seems more scary

than cutting your loss

*

Now

I wish I could say the same

but I’m breaking at my seams

I’m fighting all the feelings

because there was no reciprocity

*

I’m sick of keeping the feelings corked

that are welling up inside of me

Blocking the flow

of my chakras energy

*

In the past

fighting my emotions

has only left my body aching

*

The emotion lost its motion

making my back go stiff

*

Why did I ever care

for someone

who acts so cold and distant?

*

Sometimes I’d like to have you back

even only as a friend

but I feel I have to hold back

because you seem to fear

unconditional love

more than death

of a dear friend

*

Your silence is deafening

Feeling like you don’t care I exist

*

I wish I didn’t care so much

so I didn’t have to pretend

that I’m not holding back

because the truth is that I am

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.