Poets logo

"Hey, Four-Eyes!"

A Fishy Sonnet About Fiction

By D. J. ReddallPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
The Four-Eyed Fish, Anableps Anableps, via Wikipedia

There is a strange fish called an Anableps, twice

It has two, distinct eyes in each eyeball

Perplexing, you might think; not at all nice

There is something fishy about us all

We’ve all got four “I’s,” properly grasped:

I was, I am, I will be, I might be

Past, present, future, subjunctive: hasped

The water is the real; beneath it, see

A public, brute reality is there

But we can improvise, alter, create

Imagine the other and then compare

Conjure different versions; see which rate

Look above the surface; then look under

Synthesize to generate real wonder

Sonnet

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    What a fish! And what a way to use it! "I was, I am, I will be, I might be" - all is present in our writing and what a way to explore these different states. If we are only switched on to them.

  • I never knew of this fish! Thank you for teaching me something new today! Loved your poem!

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.