Poets logo

Hey Darlin, Here’s Another Poem Just for You

Poem

By Gregory D. WelchPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Hey Darlin, Here’s Another Poem Just for You
Photo by Pablo Nájera on Unsplash

Hey darlin, all these poems I’m writing you, they’re all little pieces of a much larger love letter

they’re fields of wildflowers, and dancing butterflies, little lightning bugs too

more than anything, all of these poems are skipped heartbeats that you’ve given me after a little “love you” or the way you look at me with that one special smile

each poem is my attempt to add a little joy to your day, to steal a kiss in a special way, and to give our souls a chance to find one another and twirl

All these little moments, love letters, whispers in the dark, the way you sound when you’re laughing and sleepy

I’ll never get tired of any of them, and I’ll never get tired of telling you just how much you mean to me

so, how am I doing darlin? Are you smiling yet? Or do I have a few more lines of poetry to go?

you do so many little things that cause me to smile, to grin, to stop everything, and pay full attention because there’s magic in the moment and so much you’re sharing

I’ll never get tired of telling you so much or sharing these little poems and love notes with you

when your eyes dance their way to mine, oh darlin, there ain’t a feeling in the wide world that can compare

you tell me how much you feel and care for me in so many ways, I love when my soul is held by yours

so, here’s one more little love you from me to you, I’m holding my hand out, one of our special songs playing, you know the one, dance with me?

I love catching you looking at me, and that little half-smile, half-smirk, and sometimes little laugh that follows

they make my heart skip a beat, and my soul dance, it feels so damned good seeing you seeing me

so, with my hand stretched out, and my heart wide open, one of our songs playing, how about a twirl?

hey darlin, here’s another poem just for you

love poems
1

About the Creator

Gregory D. Welch

Kentucky poet & scribbler. Inspiring creatives to live a creative lifestyle. Creating with courage, passion, & purpose-fueled growth. Progress over perfection.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.