Poets logo

Here

I Miss You

By Hannah StantonPublished about a year ago 2 min read
1
Here
Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

I was standing right here. Right here.

When I offered you a listening ear.

And open arms. And an open mind.

And an open heart.

I was standing right here. Right here.

When I told you that no matter what time

I’d be there by your side, offering you all of me;

that I would always be on your team.

I was standing right here. Right here.

When you reached out and finally accepted what I was offering,

and things began to look up. And you were happy.

And the War. Had stopped. Raging.

And I was standing right here. Right here.

When you began to fall back, and hate yourself,

and life, and the lies began to eat you alive,

but I refused to give up on you.

I was standing right here. Right here.

The whole time, offering you a piece of mind,

and a hand to hold, when you wanted to let go

and let the dark waters drown you.

I was standing right here. Right here!

When you lied and said that you’d

“see me tomorrow,”

and then Chose. To break. My heart.

I was standing right here. Right here!

When I got the call that you were gone,

and the confusion, and chaos, and betrayal

came raging in; causing me to shut down.

And it was right here. Right here.

Where I fell to my knees, struggling to breathe,

to understand, to comprehend what was going on;

that you were really gone.

It was right here. Right here.

Where I lost you, where I mourned you,

where I contemplated the same course of action,

where my Life. Fell. Apart.

I was here! I was always here!

Seeing what you could be

and loving you for who you were,

but somewhere along the line, it stopped being enough for you;

but you were always enough for me!

And it was right here. Right here.

Where I finally let go of the pain,

and the sadness, and the madness, and the hate,

and began living again.

It was here. Right here.

Where I changed my name to yours

and decided that I would live for you;

that I would live the life you should have had.

It was Here. I was Here.

But now it’s time that I move.

But tell me, how am I supposed to move

when I still love you?

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.