Poets logo

Hera

a poem

By Chloe Crawford La VadaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Hera
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

I linger like a foreign lipstick stain on the starched collar

of a businessman’s suit that his wife cannot bleach out –

or a stranger’s perfume, clinging with

rare persistence to your own bedsheets.

They call me Our Lady of Perpetual Inadequacy –

forever the Other Woman.

Your husband brings me home to you, and you taste me

on his lips with every forced goodnight kiss.

I am the wilted flowers in a late birthday bouquet,

and wrinkled notes,

tucked into sock drawers and back pockets.

I am the manicure that never chips.

I am suspicious phone bills and late-night texts,

receipts for things you’ve never seen.

I am the wrong name panted in the dark,

and the curdling nausea of doubt after you fuck.

I am a misplaced wedding ring, dulled by the shame

of out-of-town business meetings conducted

in pay-by-the-hour motels.

I am the curls that never unravel

and I am only lonely

until you are

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Chloe Crawford La Vada

Chloe Crawford La Vada is a writer, artist, entertainer, and educator. Her work primarily focuses on gender identity, mental health, transformations, and the shadow-space between authenticity and artifice.

www.chloelavada.com

@theladyvada

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.