Poets logo

Her Pride Makes Me Proud

And The Lessons That Follow

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
7

She said, you’ll always love me, right?

No matter what, you’ve got my back?

I said babe, you know there is nothing,

to knock my love for you off track!

Whatever you need to share with me,

I will listen and not speak.

You hold pieces of my heart and soul,

you know you mean the world to me!

She sat me down and looked at me,

as if to search my soul.

She said, I need to talk to you,

things I’ve never said before.

I looked at my little girl,

with such big worries on her mind.

I said with every confidence,

hey, everything will be alright.

She licked her lips and swallowed hard,

bit her cheek and cleared her throat.

Her nerves made me a little nervous too,

our hearts racing out of control.

She said mom, the words escape me,

I don’t quiet know what to say.

But I found that I like guys and girls,

I am pretty sure, I’m gay.

It sounded almost like a question,

I looked her squarely in the face.

I said, honey, I don’t care who you love,

it’s HOW you love, you should embrace!

At 24, my baby girl,

all grown up, came to understand.

Love reaches beyond gender,

much more than a woman and a man.

Her mama will always be right here,

no matter what life throws her way.

My love is unconditional,

labels are mere words that people made.

Rainbows and butterflies,

waterfalls and such.....

Doesn’t change a thing between us,

because love, is love, is love!!

inspirational
7

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • J. R. Lowe2 years ago

    What a beautifully crafted poem! Lovely work :)

  • Luna The Artist2 years ago

    https://paidforarticles.com/what-is-pcos-595982

  • Beautiful! Love is indeed Love

  • I do love these words , a lovely poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.