Poets logo

Her Photo

It's Life.

By Gargie S AnandPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
6
Her Photo
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

It's a struggle with painful memories and the solace found in moments shared with a loved one. It's life.

****

Whenever I closed my eyes,

Those painful memories hit me up.

Darkness resembled those dreaded silence,

Air whispered those funeral songs.

So, I opened my drawer,

And stared at her photo.

Of her precious smile,

When we went to the mountains.

Those evergreen moments,

That I had spent with her.

I remembered the birthday cake,

That I had baked with her.

I hugged the photo,

Keeping it very close my heart.

I laid down again,

Remembering the never- ending lullaby.

That she used to sing for me,

And would close my eyes again.

By Matthias Oberholzer on Unsplash

sad poetryMental HealthFriendshipart
6

About the Creator

Gargie S Anand

Gargie is a graduate in Economics and English. She loves to write about tiny things happening around. She tries to capture every moment of life through her writing. A soul who believes her powers lie within the pen and a paper.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer2 months ago

    This was very touching

  • Linda Rivenbark2 months ago

    Sweet poem! Your description of cherished memories makes me think of my mother who passed from this life a little over 10 years ago.Time eases the pain of loss and it becomes mixed with the beauty of the sweet memories we can cherish forever.

  • Sweet memories are the ones that hurt the most 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Great work! 😀

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.