Poets logo

Her Only Hero

A poem about substance abuse

By Elisa GreenPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
1
Her Only Hero
Photo by Kyle Cleveland on Unsplash

The gift of apathy you bestow

No boundaries on how far I’ll go.

I hunt for you to numb my pain,

Finding solace in your domain.

Despair clings tight within your clutch.

For my emotions, you’ve become my crutch.

Restless and sweaty if you're not near,

you wipe away my every tear.

A high and low and steady haze,

Aids me as my soul decays,

One spark to ignite our eternal flame.

A passionate love that’s taken in vein.

I lay the tracks for you to follow.

To an empty pit of pain and sorrow.

Your presence helps me lock the door,

Where emotions hide within my core.

Existing in this realm, we share,

We truly are a perfect pair.

Devoid of a life I no longer need.

Together, we made our solemn creed.

I chase, you pinch, and then we hug.

With your relaxing hands I doze, you rub.

Your hit is like a calming breeze.

You are what puts my soul at ease.

My mouth, it drools with a bowing head.

Babbling gibberish senseless words are said.

No need to speak. You own my soul.

My other half, which makes me whole.

As kinships weaken, and friendships wane,

By my side, you still remain.

As you slowly take my life away.

My haunting dragon of brown or gray.

Breathing your essence with desperate cries.

The hero-in my vacant eyes.

I am the hero-in your lifeless eyes.

Your breathing essence of desperate cries.

The dragon you chased of brown and gray,

The one who took your life away.

By my side, you remained,

As kinships weakened and friendships waned.

In my absence, you weren't whole,

That’s because I owned your soul.

Babbling gibberish were the last words you said,

With a drooling mouth, bowing your head.

My comfort put your soul at ease,

My hit was like a calming breeze.

With my relaxing hands, you dozed. I rubbed.

You chased, I’d pinch, and then we’d hug.

Together, we made our solemn creed.

To take the life you did not need.

We truly were the perfect pair,

In a realm that we no longer share.

Your emotions hid deep inside your core.

My presence helped you lock the door.

In the self-pity where you’ll forever wallow.

You laid the tracks for me to follow.

A love so passionate you took it in vein.

One spark to light our eternal flame.

I watched you while your soul decayed,

In your somber high of a low haze.

I’d wipe away your every tear,

Shedding when I wasn’t near.

For your emotions, I was the crutch,

You held me tight within your clutch.

Finding solace in my domain,

I was your prey to numb your pain.

I guess there’s nowhere else to go.

Apathy’s gift I’ll again bestow.

I’ll be the hero-in someone else’s eyes.

They’ll breathe my essence with desperate cries.

CONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Elisa Green

I have a deep passion for writing, and upon completing a poem or story, I experience an immense sense of satisfaction and fulfillment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem! Fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.