Poets logo

Her Favorite Color Is Black

As the years passed, she struggled to find her way back. Not even sure of where that was... but someone was waiting for her. She had no doubt about that!

By Crystal RaePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
She felt invisible in a world that craved her love

Why am I here, she asks

I did as I was told, I completed all my tasks

Yet, time and time again... I felt so incomplete

Who it is it that beckons for me?

Who shall I meet?

Am I to kneel in their shadow or will they rise to mine?

So many questions for the answers desperately seek

Please, oh please, give me a sign

I am exhausted by all that life has taken from me

Love is all I have ever sought and dreamed to be

In the form of a presence with a familiar face

Yet, so many nights I have stared past the stars

A voice whispering my name from beyond the darkness of space

Watching them from into shapes I have seen before

Uncertain where, or how... Something fierce was drawing me near

Begging me for more

So I pushed aside my sadness and fear

With hopes and dreams of my final destination being all I have lacked

To finally feel whole and truly loved back

So kind sir, please tell me where this is and what you seek

Share your words as I take a moment to rest

My body and mind are tired and I feel so weak

Fill my dreams with words I desire to hear

Color a picture that is bright, happy, and make it perfectly clear

He says you are in the place of the color you always chose

The one painted on your nails that match your clothes

A shade you have hidden behind when your heart was truly a brilliant red

You silenced your voice and those you valued most

Were those whom you began to dread

Sadly, you are stuck in the in-between

The reality you created inside of you

Constantly wishing to hide-away

When those that surrounded you needed you to stay

That was your love, the life you sought

It was the one battle you never should have fought

My dear, you have caused your self worth and image to turn

There are no tears to be shed here

But child, there is no going back

This is what you so longed for

In your dreams and in every prayer

Look around it's you that you see everywhere

You wanted them but they needed you more

It was your reflection that won the war and took away their pains

Because of who you are, they all will never again be the same

So rest, this is your safety and your peace of mind

Everything you ever wanted or felt you lacked is here

In the form of your favorite color

Black

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Crystal Rae

My heart bleeds black and white for you to read like an open book... so don't be shy... take a look!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.