Poets logo

Henry David Thoreau

A Poem of Nonsense

By Atomic HistorianPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
11
Photo credit: Henry David Thoreau, Wikipedia

Henry David Thoreau

Throws thrones like little stones

Where they go

No one knows

It flies like a bird

Into the nose

Of all the Fabios

Oh, the moans and groans

Of the toned deaf scones

Hiding in their homes

Everyone bemoaned

No one owns anything

Not even our bones

Too busy living to phone

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
11

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Doc Sherwood9 months ago

    Incredibly witty word-plays and rhymes! I loved this. "Thoreau throws thrones like little stones" is read-aloud delight! Meanwhile, the tacit advice on getting out of the house, taking a break from work and seeing what's around you once in a while (we feel this especially towards the end) is of course just the sort of recommendation Thoreau himself would have made. With your permission, I'd like to trot this poem out the next time I'm lecturing on him? The cleverness of your composition (preserving rhyme and rhythm throughout such abstract content) made me think of Weird Al Yankovic's song "Bob." See below if not already acquainted! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAfIikFnvuI

  • Colleen Flanagan9 months ago

    Your poem made me grin during a tough day. Thank you!

  • Sarah D9 months ago

    Ummm. You attempted to write- not bad.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is great. Gave me a chuckle.

  • Lol, this was fun! I enjoyed reading it!

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    This made me smile

  • Ah, Atomic, I pond-ered over this little bit of fun but felt walled-in by its simple ludicrosity. (Sorry, that's the best I could do.) Delightful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.