Poets logo

Help Me

Listen please

By Colorful ChaoticPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

Can you hear me?

Hello? Hi? Hey?

Help me

I'm drowning. I tell you.

I can’t breathe. I’m gasping for air.

I push my lungs to scream louder

But those screams fall silent.

Help me.

You can hear me. I know it.

My mouth forms the words

Yet falls silent on deaf ears.

Help me.

Oh thank you! You heard me!

Please help. Please listen.

Ok? Yes? Tests? Ok.

Help me.

Poke. Prode. Lay still.

Help me.

Ok. Questions?

Does this X?

Does that Y?

Does it Z?

No. No. NO.

Help me.

You didn’t listen!

This isn’t what I asked of you!

Open your damn ears!

Help me.

Move on. Unavailable. Wait 6 months.

Oh finally. Another one.

Please listen.

Help me.

Scribble. Write. Erase. Scribble.

More questions. Still not listening.

My body hurts. The wounds have scarred.

I’ll reopen them later.

Help me.

My mind has gone blank.

I have no answers, no words

Winds whistle through empty heads.

Was this the right way?

They think there’s a better way.

Help me.

See you in a few weeks.

It’s not forever right?

It’s the way they say

I still feel that deaf ears lurk.

Help me.

I’m back! Did you miss me?

I love the decorations!

Wait, oh, it’s for them…

I’ll just go.

Help me.

Just put on a face

Just keep the pace

They don't think anything else anyway

Nod. Smile. Nod. Yes. Yes.

Good job playing today.

Help me.

I can’t play anymore, sorry

Plan. Prep. Write.

I’ve screamed and I've pleaded.

I’ve begged and I’ve bargained.

But not one listened.

Help me.

It’s too late. Write. Seal. Place.

I’ll miss the light. The warmth.

Even though I’ve felt so cold

For so long drowning.

So I’ll just help myself.

And it’ll be forever this time.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Colorful Chaotic

I write to keep the demons at bay.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.