Poets logo

Hello Mum

A letter beyond to mother the now

By Omolola OsundePublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2
Hello Mum
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Hey mum.

It's the cold of the night.

I miss you.

Your voice.

The sound of discipline, yet so warm and tender.

I'm not an adult yet, though the world is seeing me as one.

The genuine care I trivialized thinking it was a casual giveaway but eventually given away.

Your love is indispensable.

I've not found one like it yet.

The nights when we'll both be in the dark alone consoling ourselves.

Your sacrifice.

So silent, yet so significant.

So loud, yet so harmless.

As gentle as a dove you are, but your wisdom wows me!

Our last genuine conversation was about me serving the Lord (leaving all if it's possible), which you didn't object (though it was a huge battle).

That was the legacy I caught from you and of course from the lineage.

You didn't live half of your dreams!

But here I am following as though foolish the sovereign master plan of God!

Mum,

The day of birth comes and I reminisce some of the priceless moments we had together.

Mum,

I really don't know the full image of His plan but I'm following, because I've seen you follow in your lifetime and I'm fully persuaded I can't be in the wrong in His will.

You showed me a path I'll forever thread in.

I miss you greatly.

And here's me saying happy birthday in advance to myself on your behalf.

This year feels so different,

I don't know why...

But I know,

He knows.

Your daughter.

inspirationalsad poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Lovely tribute to your mum!!! Beautifully written!!!💕♥️♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.